The 2017 Edition of the Prix Versailles has been launched!


Architecture commerciale


Prix Versailles 2016 (Hotels)

The third edition of the Prix Versailles has been launched. The Prize recognizes exceptional architecture for commercial edifices and 2017 marks the second international edition of the prize, which has been endorsed by the International Union of Architects and UNESCO.


Submissions to the pre-selection process may be submitted to the prize secretariat on the website between now and 11: 59 pm CET on 31 January 2017. Candidates in the pre-selection phase will enter into six regions (Central America, South America and the Caribbean, North America, Central Asia and the Northeast, South Asia and the Pacific and Europe) adjudicated by six different juries, which will attribute prizes in four categories: Shops and Stores, Hotels and Restaurants and most recently, Shopping Malls.


Each continental jury member will pay special attention to exterior or interior structures, paying special attention to projects whose architects have undertaken a sustainable approach to commercial architecture, or which exhibit exemplary and inspirational architectural value. Continental and special prizes for interiors and exteriors will also be awarded.


The World Judges Panel of eight jury members headed by François de Mazières, Mayor of Versailles, France will then select the final prize as well as Interior and Exterior prizes in each category. The UIA representative and the list of jury members for the World Judges Panel will be announced shortly.


The Prix represents a unique effort to recognize the contribution of commercial architecture to society. The World prizes and the special prizes will be awarded to the winners in a ceremony held at UNESCO headquarters in Paris, France on 12 May 2017.


Registration deadline

31 January 2017

Sending deadline

31 January 2017

Award ceremony

12 May 2017