3rd Edition of Baku International Architecture Award
3rd Edition of Baku International Architecture Award - 1st Prize Cat. B

The Third Edition of the Baku International Architecture Award has been successfully concluded.  The open, biennial award organised by the Ministry of Culture and Tourism of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan is endorsed the International Union of Architects (UIA). It recognizes achievement in urban planning and architecture, focusing on composition, volumetric and spatial solutions.  





The Jury awarded First, Second and Third Prizes in the following categories:
A – Best Implemented Project in the Architecture of Public Buildings:
First Prize – Elizabeth Abalo Diaz and Gonzalo Alonso Nunez (Spain) for the Romano Civic Centre

Second Prize – Doan Thanh Ha (Vietnam) for Friendly Space in Suffocating Urban Areas

Third Prize – Tamburelli Pier Paolo (Italy) for House of Memory
B – Best Implemented Project in the Architecture of Residential Buildings:
First Prize – Camilo Rorigues Rebelo, Susana Alexandra Martins (Portugal) for Ktima House

Second Prize – Viera Da Costa Natalina (France) for Maison + Agence

Third Prize – Silva Raulino Ricardo Oliveira (Portugal) for Vila do Conde House
C – Best implemented interiors:
First Prize – Nargiz Aghayeva (Azerbaijan) for Design of the “Law Literature Shop” interior, English Spirit in the Centre of Baku

Second Prize – Tsubasa Iwahashi (Japan) for Feeling of Distance

Third Prize – Paolo Cucci (Italy) for Ponderosa Interior
D – Best non-realised project:
First Prize – Rizvan Bayramov, Maqsud Mammadov, Jahid Alizade, Sheyda Novruzzade (Azerbaijan) for a project to study architectural value of the buildings around the Taza Pir Mosque complex (maintenance of the scale and architectural style of the existing buildings at the next steps of the project recommended)

Second Prize – Paulo Dias (Portugal) for Blue Clay County Spa

Third Prize – Nariman Imamaliyev (Azerbaijan) for Villa in the Nardaran Village, Baku, Absheron Peninsula
E – Best Implemented Project in the Field of Landscape Architecture:
First Prize – Eleni Moschovakou (Greece) for Nikis Square, Kozani

Second Prize – Elizabeth Abalo Diaz and Gonzalo Alonso Nunez (Spain) for Caramonina Allotments

Third Prize – Yevgeniy Kryshov (Azerbaijan) for Landscape Project and Villas in Baku
F – Best project undertaken in the field of rehabilitation and reconstruction:
First Prize – Lustin Popescu (Romania) for The Animal Farm – access pavilion

Second Prize – Jamaladdin Gadirov (Azerbaijan) for The Historical and Architectural reserve “Icheri Sheher” in Baku City, Azerbaijan

Third Prize – An Viet Dung (Vietnam) for Koi Cafe
G – Best Publication in the Field of Architecture:
First Prize – Gulchohra Mammadova, Zahida Mammadova, Sabina Hajiyeva, Rayiha Amanzada, Ramiz Abdulrahimov, Nizami Naghiyev, Nargiz Abdullayeva, Fikret Huseynov (Azerbaijan) for “History of Azerbaijan Architecture” 

Second Prize – Azim A. Aziz (Malaysia) for “Masjid – Selected Mosques from The Islamic World”

Third Prize – Gulchohra Mammadova, Sabina Hajiyeva (Azerbaijan) for “Architectural Monuments in the north-west region of Azerbaijan”
H – Best Architecture Journalism and Criticism (online and print):
First Prize – Fakhraddin Miralay (Azerbaijan) for “Unknown architecture of Azerbaijan” 

Second Prize – Elturan Avalov (Azerbaijan) for “Mahallas of Shusha”

Third Prize – Ramiz Abdulrahimov (Azerbaijan) for “Development Principles of Sustainable Architecture”


For more information, please check out the official website of the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan www.uaa.az or contact them at uaa@uaa.az


The prize fund of 52,500 AZN will be divided into three prizes for each category:

- First Prize -  4000 AZN, 2000 AZN for categories G & H
- Second Prize -  2500 AZN, 1250 AZN for categories G & H
- Third Prize - 1000 AZN, 500 AZN for categories G & H



Architects duly qualified for architectural practice in their country of residence may participate in the Award.

Each participant can submit only one project for each category and participation is free of charge.


  • Announcement: 25 February 2017
  • Deadline for submitting questions:  1 August 2017.
  • Deadline for organiser’s replies to questions: 15 August 2017.
  • Deadline for dispatching entries by post: 30 September 2017.
  • Deadline for the reception of entries: 30 September 2017
  • International jury: 6 October 2017.
  • Announcement of the results: 7 October 2017.


Please note that projects by national participants must be submitted by 18:00, 30 September 2017 to the Republic of Azerbaijan, Baku, Union of Architects of Azerbaijan at 24 Murtuza Muxtarov Street.

Foreign participants’ submissions must be postmarked 30 September 2017 and must reach the Union of Architects of Azerbaijan by 30 September 2017.




Union of Architects of Azerbaijan - UAA

Results Announcement

07 October 2017


  • Vassilis Sgoutas (chair) - former UIA President, Greece
  • Michel Barmaki - Lebanon
  • Hayder Ali - Sudan
  • Frédéric Ragot - France
  • Elbay Gasimzada, Azerbaijan