Partner of UIA Gold Medal and Prizes

Urban renewal of one Schuman square in Brussels
Future architects from Korea and Singapore illustrate speed and slowness


Dedicated to the memory of the first UIA presidents, the UIA Prizes were created in 1961 to recognise professionals whose merits, talents, or actions have made an international impact in a particular aspect of the architectural profession:

  • Sir Patrick Abercrombie Prize for town planning and territorial development
  • Auguste Perret Prize for technology applied to architecture
  • Jean Tschumi Prize for architectural theory, criticism or education
  • Sir Robert Matthew Prize for improving the quality of human settlements

In 2007, a new Prize named for UIA Past President Vassilis Sgoutas recognises inventive implemented architectural solutions for alleviating poverty and indigence.

These prizes are awarded every three years, and the winners are honoured during a ceremony at the International Union of Architects' triennial world congress.


Please note that aspirants to the Vassilis Sgoutas Prize, as with the other UIA Prizes, must be officially nominated by a UIA Member Section.

Other prizes are awarded as part of the activities carried out by UIA working bodies, these include the international competition for research in architectural teaching, the competition for bioclimatic emergency shelters for disaster victims, the Golden Cube awards given by the work programme Architecture and children, the international award “Friendly Spaces Accessible to All”

session 2014

No prize was awarded.

Joseph Rykwert is the winner of the Jean Tschumi Prize, awarded for architectural teaching, criticism and history, which have contributed to excellence in architectural education.

No prize was awarded.

The Seoul Metropolitan Government received the Sir Robert Matthew Prize, awarded for the amelioration of habitats and public spaces in the interest of harmonious and cooperative development. The project team was led by Youngkeun Han.

The Emergency Architects Foundation and Architects Without Borders (Spain) awarded for architecture serving the most impoverished and for the conception of inventive solutions for reducing poverty and indigence.