Urban renewal of one Schuman square in Brussels
Future architects from Korea and Singapore illustrate speed and slowness

Sir Patrick Abercrombie Prize


Dedicated to the memory of the first UIA presidents, the UIA Prizes were created in 1961 to recognise professionals whose merits, talents, or actions have made an international impact in a particular aspect of the architectural profession:

  • Sir Patrick Abercrombie Prize for town planning and territorial development
  • Auguste Perret Prize for technology applied to architecture
  • Jean Tschumi Prize for architectural theory, criticism or education
  • Sir Robert Matthew Prize for improving the quality of human settlements

In 2008, a new prize bearing the name of another former UIA president was created: the Vassilis Sgoutas Prize, which recognises significant contributions to improving living conditions for the world's poorest communities.

These prizes are awarded every three years, and the winners are honoured during a ceremony at the International Union of Architects' triennial world congress.
The UIA Member Sections and Council members are invited to present one candidate per prize.

Other prizes are awarded as part of the activities carried out by UIA working bodies, these include the international competition for research in architectural teaching, the competition for bioclimatic emergency shelters for disaster victims, the Golden Cube awards given by the work programme Architecture and children, the international award “Friendly Spaces Accessible to All”

2002 + infos

Group 91 Architects (Ireland)

1999 + infos

Honorary mention
Shenzhen (China)

1996 + infos

Juan Gil Elizondo (Mexico)

1987 + infos

L. Bortenreuter, K. Griebel, H.G. Tiedt (Germany)

1981 + infos

Les architectes de Varsovie (Poland)

1978 + infos

Ville de Louvain la Neuve (Belgium)