

The UIA Gold Medal and Prizes

To encourage merit, recognise talent and reward achievements of international consequence, the International Union of Architects (UIA) awards prizes during the UIA World Congress of Architects, every three years.

The UIA Council created the UIA Gold Medal for outstanding architectural achievement in 1984. Inscribed on the gold medal are the date of the award and the name of the recipient. The UIA Gold Medal recognises outstanding architectural achievement by an architect or group of architects, taking into account all aspects of a body of work constructed over an extended period.

The UIA also awards prizes for planning, technology, education and human settlements. An international jury awards the Gold Medal and these prizes:

- The Patrick Abercrombie Prize for Urban Planning and Design
- The Auguste Perret Prize for Technology in Architecture
- The Jean Tschumi Prize for Architectural Writing
- The Robert Matthew Prize for Sustainable and Humane Environments
- The Vassilis Sgoutas Prize for Implemented Architecture Serving the Impoverished

The UIA will award the next Gold Medal and Prizes during the UIA World Congress of Architects in Copenhagen.

The UIA Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is the highest international honour the International Union of Architects can confer on a living architect. It recognises outstanding achievement in the field of architecture and distinguished service to society through the architectural profession, over an extended period.

The UIA Prizes

The Patrick Abercrombie Prize for Urban Planning and Design

Named after the first UIA President, Sir Patrick Abercrombie, known for his role in the post-war reconstruction of Great Britain and attributed since 1961, this prize recognises <u>exemplary works of</u> <u>urban and regional planning and design</u>. Past winners include Edmund N. Bacon, Jan Gehl, Nuno Portas, Sir Peter Hall and Mahmoud Yousry Hassan.

The Auguste Perret Prize for Technology in Architecture

Named after Honorary UIA President and eminent twentieth century French architect Auguste Perret, renowned for his pioneering use of reinforced concrete and attributed since 1961, the Auguste Perret Prize rewards a body of work characterised by <u>technological excellence</u>. Past winners have included Thomas Herzog, Shigeru Ban, Sir Norman Foster and Françoise Hélène Jourda.

The Jean Tschumi Prize for Architectural Writing

Named after former UIA President and member of the Modern Movement, the Jean Tschumi Prize recognises <u>excellence in architectural criticism and writing</u> since it was first awarded in 1967. Past winners include Reyner Banham, Peter Cook, Liangyong Wu, Juhani Pallasmaa, Kenneth Frampton, Louise Noelle Gras, Joseph Rykwert and Ashraf Salama.



The Robert Matthew Prize for Sustainable and Humane Environments

Named after Past President of the UIA Robert Matthew and attributed since 1978, the prize embodies the <u>goals of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme</u> (UN-Habitat). The prize has recognised individuals and groups, including Hassan Fathy, Stefan Foster, Giancarlo de Carlo and Carin Smuts to the Seoul Metropolitan Government.

The Vassilis Sgoutas Prize for Implemented Architecture Serving the Impoverished

Named after former UIA President Vassilis Sgoutas and attributed since 2008, the prize recognises ingenious and <u>implemented architectural solutions serving the impoverished</u>. Past winners include Arquitectos sin Fronteras, Architectes de l'Urgence, Paul Pholeros, Fabrizio Carola, Carlos Gonzalez Lobo and Huang Thuc Hao.

Eligibility

Nominees for the UIA Gold Medal and the UIA Prizes may include any living architect, firm, group of architects or collective entity comprising architects. The achievements of a firm or group must represent collaborative efforts over an extended period, with the same individuals as leaders of the group. Except in the case of the Jean Tschumi Prize, nominees must be professionally qualified architects or, in the case of group (team) submissions, headed by a professionally qualified architect.

Each Member Section or elected official may nominate up to three candidates from one or more countries.

Nominations must be in accordance with these rules and the calendar published by the UIA Secretariat.

Nominations

Only Member Sections and elected representatives of the UIA may submit nominations for the Gold Medal and Awards. Nominations, in digital form only, shall be submitted via the online platform: <u>https://uia.awardsplatform.com/</u>. Nominations must include:

- A photograph of the candidate or candidates (maximum 5 MB)
- A short biography of the candidate (up to 600 words)
- A statement from the nominating body or individual explaining the reasons for the nomination for a particular UIA Prize
- A summary of the candidate's work (up to 1000 words)
- A maximum of 10 photographs (maximum 15MB each) of the candidate's work (in the case of the Jean Tschumi Prize, photographs can be replaced by scanned images of selected writings).

The UIA can accept materials only via the on-line platform above, in any of the following formats: .docx, .pdf, .gif, .jpeg, .jpg, .png, .tif or .tiff. The UIA cannot accept materials in other formats, or materials submitted by e-mail, post or courier. Nomination materials must be in one of the two UIA working languages, French or English.



<u>Jury</u>

Chaired by UIA President José Luis Cortés, the international jury will be composed of members of the UIA Bureau. Chinese architect, Li Xiaodong, will join the jury to evaluate the submissions for the UIA Gold Medal. For each prize, the jury will be joined by one of the laureates of previous editions:

- Jan Gehl (Denmark), 1993 laureate of the Patrick Abercrombie Prize for Urban Planning and Design
- Anupama Kundoo (India), 2021 laureate of the Auguste Perret Prize for Technology in Architecture
- Ashraf Salama (Egypt), 2017 laureate of the Jean Tschumi Prize for Architectural Writing
- Carin Smuts (South Africa), 2017 laureate of the Robert Matthew Prize for Sustainable and Humane Environments
- Nadia Tromp (South Africa), 2021 laureate of the Vassilis Sgoutas Prize for Implemented Architecture Serving the Impoverished

Candidates selected for any award must receive an affirmative vote from at least two-thirds of the jury. If the jury determines that no nominee is suitably qualified for an award, it may elect not to make an award.

Timeline

Launch: 28 February 2023 Deadline for submissions: 17 April 2023 Jury meeting: 27-28 April 2023 Announcement of laureates: 9 May 2023 Award ceremony: 2-6 July 2023