Named after former UIA President, the Jean Tschumi Prize, first awarded in 1967, recognises excellence in architectural writing & critique.  Jean André Tschumi, born February 14, 1904, was a Swiss architect and professor at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne A member of the Modern Movement, Jean Tschumi is known for the buildings he designed for Sandoz, Nestlé, la Mutuelle Vaudoise (headquarters), as well as for his contribution to architectural theory and education.

In 1915, at the age of 11, Jean Tschumi began drawing under the guidance of his father, a woodworker, who also taught him the basics of his craft. Shortly before finishing primary school in April 1918, Tschumi signed up for professional training at the Société Industrielle de Lausanne. At the same time, he began an apprenticeship as a draftsman in the office of Charles Braun. After World War II, Tschumi designed the Sandoz laboratories in Orléans and in Noisy-le-Sec. After his death, several buildings were completed posthumously: the general headquarters of Sandoz in Rueil-Malmaison, completed in 1968 by Bernard Zehrfuss and the Swiss architect Martin Burckhardt.

Past winners of the UIA Jean Tschumi Prize include Reyner Banham, Peter Cook, Liangyong Wu, Juhani Pallasmaa, Kenneth Frampton, Louise Noelle Gras, Joseph Rykwert and Ashraf Salama.