Founded in honour of UIA Past President, Vassilis Sgoutas, and attributed since 2008, this prize recognises ingenious and implemented architectural solutions serving impoverished communities. Vassilis Sgoutas graduated as an architect from Cape Town University and later established his firm “Sgoutas Architects” in Athens. He is renowned for his humanitarian stance, underlined by the triennial UIA “Vassilis Sgoutas Prize”, created in 2007, which celebrates innovative architectural solutions for the improvement of living conditions in impoverished communities. He himself has been particularly active in architecture underpinned by principles of environmentalism and accessibility for all. He has implemented large scale projects in Greece and the Middle East, including public buildings, auditoria, hospitals, rehabilitation centres, landscaping, and urban design. He twice received the Best Building Awards from the Greek Ministry of Public Works, the Creative Housing Award from the Greek Ministry of Environment, and the Medal of the Magnesia Chapter from the Technical Chamber of Greece for his lifelong service to architecture. 

In 2017, he released his book « Journey with the Architects of the World », the fruit of a lifetime’s experience in socially responsible architecture. In academia, Vassilis was Foreign Member of the State Russian Academy of Architecture and Construction Sciences and an Honorary Professor of the International Academy of Architecture (Bulgaria) and the Academy of Architecture and Civil Engineering of Kazakhstan. Vassilis was awarded the medals of UAG (Georgia) and Bene Merentibus of SARP (Poland), the insignia of the Superior Council of the Architects of Spain, the Presidential Medals of the AIA (USA) and FCARM (Mexico). Vassilis Sgoutas was President of the UIA from 1999-2002 and Honorary Fellow of the Architects Institutes of Australia, China, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Mexico, Panama, Philippines, Russia, South Africa and the USA.

Winners of the Prize (2008 – 2021) 

2008 – Collective: Paul Pholeros/ HealthHabitat (Greece); Individual Hany Hassan (Egypt); Mentions: Richard Dobson (South Africa), Rodney Harber (South Africa), & Brinda Somaya (India)
2011 – Carola Fabrizio (Italy); Carlos Gonzalez Lobo (Mexico); Mentions Alexander Kuptsov (Russia), Savage + Dodd (South Africa), Francis Kéré (Germany), Ideal Space Studio (China)
2014 – Arquitectos sin Fronteras – España (Spain) and Architectes de l’Urgence (France) Mentions to Kunlé Adeyemi (Nigeria), TYIN Tegnestue Architects (Norway), Carin Smuts (South Africa) and Anna Rubbo (Australia).
2017 – Hoang Thuc Hao (Viêt Nam)
2021 – David Kaunitz & Ka Wai Yeung (Australia), Nadia Tromp (South Africa), Jiansong Lu (China). Jury Mentions: Brinda Somaya (India) & Biuro Projektów Lewicki Łatak Team (Poland)