The Daylight Award 2020

Region IV - Asia and Oceania | Cambodia

This year, the International Union of Architects is proud to endorse the Daylight Award, a biennial prize that honours and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and the environment.

For more information on the Daylight Award, please see its YouTube channel.

Photo: 2018 edition laureates Japanese architect Hiroshi Sambuichi and American researcher Greg Ward

The award is organised by the non-profit, private charitable foundations, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, established by Villum Kann Rasmussen. Previous winners of daylight prizes awarded by the three foundations include Jorn Utzon (1980), Henning Larsen (1987), Bob Gysin (2007), Richard Perez (2008), Peter Zumthor (2010), James Carpenter (2010), Lacaton & Vassal (2011), Gigon & Guyer (2012) and SANAA (2014).

The Daylight Award is bestowed in two categories: Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture.

Daylight in Architecture is awarded to an architect or architectural team, whose work “considers the overall quality of life, its impact on human health, well-being and performance, and its value to society”. Daylight Research recognises “individuals or smaller groups of scientists who have distinguished themselves as outstanding contributors to internationally recognised daylight research”.

In 2018, the prize recognized architect Hiroshi Sambuichi, for his works balancing nature and architecture, and researcher Greg Ward, for his software simulation programme, Radiance.

Nominations from fellow architects and researchers are accepted, internationally, from experts in diverse fields who have a knowledge of and interest in advancing outstanding daylight research and unique use of daylight in architecture. Past laureates, professional organisations, architects, researchers and other professionals possessing expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture are especially encouraged to nominate candidates.

Additionally, the Special Advisor accepts individual nominations from architects, researchers and other professionals for consideration by the jury for the Daylight Award. Self nominations will not be accepted.

Please send an email to the Special Advisor with the nominee’s name and contact information:

Nominations that do not result in the award are automatically carried over to the following year.



Nominations will be accepted until 1 November 2019.

The Jury will meet early in 2020 to evaluate the nominations.

Laureates will be announced on the UN/UNESCO `International Day of Light´, 16 May 2020.

For more information, please visit The Daylight Award.


VELUX Foundations

Keywords : Daylight

Theme and objectives

Key criteria

Depuis 2016, ce prix biennal comprend 2 catégories : Prix Lumière du jour de la recherche et Prix d’Architecture Lumière. Chaque prix est doté d’un montant de 100 00 euros. Le Prix Lumière du jour de la recherche est décerné à « des individus ou des petits groupes de scientifiques reconnus au niveau international pour leur contribution remarquable à la recherche de la lumière du jour. Il reconnaît les avancées originales et influentes dans les domaines des sciences naturelles, des sciences humaines ou des sciences sociales avec un accent particulier sur les effets de la lumière du jour sur la santé humaine, le bien-être et la performance ».

Le Prix d’Architecture Lumière du jour est décerné à « un ou plusieurs architectes qui se sont distingués en réalisant l’architecture ou la création d’environnements urbains qui mettent en valeur l’utilisation unique de la lumière du jour. Un accent particulier est mis sur l’architecture qui prend en compte la qualité de vie dans son ensemble, son impact sur la santé humaine, le bien-être et la performance, et sa valeur à la société »


Des candidatures internationales sont attendues pour primer les experts dans divers domaines ayant un savoir et un intérêt dans la promotion de la recherche en lumière du jour et un usage particulier de la lumière du jour en architecture. Anciens lauréats, organisations professionnelles, architectes, chercheurs et autres professionnels qualifiés dans le domaine de la recherche sur la lumière du jour et en architecture sont particulièrement invités à désigner des candidats.

Les candidatures individuelles d’architectes, chercheurs et autres professionnels seront également acceptées et soumises au Jury pour le Prix d’architecture de Lumière du jour.

Toutes les candidatures devront être adressées à :

Les candidatures qui ne seront pas primées seront reconduites pour la prochaine édition.

Jury Members

Marilyne Andersen (Switzerland) – Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies at EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, EPFL)

Aki Kawasaki (Switzerland) – Associate professor of Biology and Medicine, University of Lausanne, Ophthalmic Hospital Jules Gonin, Lausanne, Switzerland.

Anne Lacaton (France) – Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, based in Paris, France

Juhani Pallasmaa (Finland) – architect, writer and teacher

James Carpenter (USA) – Founder of the cross-disciplinary design firm James Carpenter Design Associates

Koen Steemers (United Kingdom) – Professor of Sustainable Design, The Martin Centre for Architectural and Urban Studies, Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Key dates



The Award is bestowed in two categories: Daylight Research and Daylight in Architecture, each of which carries a financial compensation of €100,000.