International Contextual Architecture Award 2022 In Memory Of Turgut Cansever

Antalya Kepez Municipality, in cooperation with the Antalya Branch of the Chamber of Architects of Turkey, has organised the “The International Contextual Architecture Awards in memory of Architect Turgut Cansever”.

Endorsed by the International Union of Architects (UIA), these Awards seek proposals that exhibit original interpretations of Turkish Architect Turgut Cansever’s design principles.

Known for his contextual approach to architecture and urban planning prioritising regional expression, context-specific design and architectural quality, Turgut Cansever (1921-2009) is the only architect ever to win the Aga Khan Award for Architecture three times.

The Awards are divided into three parts:

  • The Turgut Cansever Grand Prix, which recognises an architect whose lifelong commitment to a contextual approach to the contemporary built environment prioritises local and regional identity as well as environmental sensibilities.
  • The Turgut Cansever International Award, attributed to an architectural project by an architect or architectural firm from any country in the world. The project should embody the values Turget Cansever emphasised in his own work.
  • The Turgut Cansever Local Award recognising an architectural project realised in the province of Antalya, Turkey and embodying the values Turgut Cansever emphasised in his own work.

Key dates

2020-01-20 Deadline for entries
2020-02-10 Jury meeting
2020-02-22 Award ceremony and opening of exhibition


The winner of the Grand Prix will be awarded 25 000 TRY (approximately 3 900 Euros); the International Award winner will receive 20 000 TRY (approximately 3 150 Euros) and the Local Award winner will be awarded 15 000 TRY (approximately 2 360 Euros).

Keywords : Culture, Heritage

Theme and objectives

The award seeks to highlight the importance of local identity in a globalised world.


Architects can both apply with their own projects or nominate the projects of other architects. Clients and professional organisations may also nominate projects and architects as candidates for the award.

Jury Members

The international jury consisting of Ian Ritchie (UK), Antonio Riverso (Italy), Süha Özkan (Turkey), C. Abdi Güzer (Turkey) and UIA Representative Martin Drahovsky (Slovakia) will meet in Antalya on 10 February 2020 to evaluate the entries.