Procedure : Category : Academic, Open, Professional

The International Union of Architects (UIA) has launched the first International Innovative Health Design Awards, organised by the UIA Public Health Group and open to all architects around the world.

Keywords : Health, Sustainability

Theme and objectives

In keeping with its mission to mobilise architects to design for health in the wake of the COVID-­19 pandemic, the 2021 UIA General Assembly declared 2022  the UIA Year of Design for Health.

The International Innovative Health Design Awards aim to celebrate the essential role that architects play in social and environmental well-being and to address how architecture and architecture research focused on Design for Health, can help to mitigate the impact of future calamities. The Awards seek to recognise innovative architectural design solutions addressing issues brought to the fore by the COVID-­19 pandemic.  Architects are invited to submit entries in one of two categories: Built Work and Theoretical Work.

Key criteria

Evaluation criteria for the Built work category:

  • Creative and innovative approach in Health Design
  • Architectural quality of the design considering functional, environmental and sustainability aspects
  • Pertinence of the overall concept of the proposal

Evaluation criteria for Theoretical Work category:

  • Innovative approaches in Health Design
  • Clarity of research purpose, demonstrating critical analytical engagement
  • The research findings should be academically defensible
  • The quality of the submission’s structure and referencing must be commendable


All practicing architects and architecture academics across the globe are eligible.

Jury Members

Built Work Category

  • Cindy Walters (UK), architect
  • Deniz İncedayi (Turkey), Chairperson & UIA Representative, architect
  • Tye Farrow (Canada), architect
  • Kerstin Thompson (Australia), architect
  • Luyanda Mpahlwa (South Africa), architect

heoretical Category

  • Ola Oduku (UK): Head, University of Liverpool
  • Fani Vavili (Greece), Chairperson, UIA PHG, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, UIA Representative
  • Nivaldo Vieira de Andrade Junior (Brazil), Federal University of Bahia
  • Rosman Wai (Hong Kong), University of Hong Kong
  • Vity Claude Nsalambi (Angola), University Agostinho Neto

Key dates

2022-10-05Deadline for Questions
2022-10-18Deadline for Answers
2023-02-08Deadline for Submission of Entries
2023-03-01Jury meetings
2023-04-26Announcement of winners
2023-07-01Awards Presentation & Exhibition


There will be one (1) award allocated per award category.  Awardees will be presented with certificates as well as free entrance to the UIA Congress and the award ceremony.